our lives are based on face to face interactions

Had a wonderful conversation last night with the father of a friend. He had leafed through my copy of “Against Civilization”, and wanted to know more about the book. We talked and I quickly decided I wanted him to just have the book, as it was of more value being read by him and then shared with others than on my bookshelf waiting for me to decide to reference it again. I also gave him copies of PD 3 & 4, hoping I didn’t seem like an insane evangelist – my intent was to hopefully spark dialogue and an examination of the issues I find pressing (increasing repression, alienation and violence, growing ecological catastrophe).

I value these moments more than almost anything. Connections, across the lines created by capitalism and the state – those marked by race, class, gender, age and so on – based upon a shared understanding that things are going horribly wrong from the perspective of ongoing survival and increased freedom for every individual on the planet.

–ingrate

Leave a comment